“Crispy” Corn Fritters

Click to see Pin!

So a few weeks ago, Nick and I invited some friends over for a cookout. We fired up the grill and went a little crazy with the meats – fresh artisan sausages from the wonderful Local Pig, pork tenderloin, steak… and there was only four of us!

I had several ears of corn on hand and had this fritter recipe in my mind for awhile. For some reason – devine? – I decided to bake them instead of frying. Everyone knows fried food is superior in just about every situation, so I’m not sure what I was thinking. But I digress.

THE RECIPE: ?

I followed the preparation exactly (I didn’t have shallot – I used a little bit of onion instead) and ended up with a goopy batter. I spooned a couple of teaspoons onto a cooking sheet, set the over to 400, and hoped for the best. Ten-ish minutes later, I beheld my creation.

THE TASTE: RAVE REVIEWS

So my “crispy fritters” came out as what we now affectionally refer to as “corn cookies”. They were soft and mildly sweet, and ended up as perfect appetizers as we waited for our smorgasbord of meats to cook. Added bonus: I put a little shredded cheddar cheese on top of the second batch at the 5-minute mark and let it get all melty. Delicious!

DIFFICULTY: SUPER EASY

These are great if you need a summery side in a pinch. We seriously couldn’t get enough.

 

Leave a Reply

