Cheese & Potato Perogies

perogies

Click to see the Pin!

Perogies, if you’re not aware, are little pockets of butter-fried potatoy goodness that traditionally originated in Poland. This is one of our favorite meals, but let me warn you – these puppies take a little time to pull together. I usually make them when I’m trying to avoid cleaning the house. And my kitchen is teensy-tinsey, so everything ends up covered in flour. That’s right. No cheating with Philsbury croissants or philo dough here. That’s for pussies. That’s for fake cooks. This recipe makes dough from scratch.

And not just from scratch. I don’t own a mixer. I make these fuckers by hand.

RECIPE:  PRETTY SOLID

The recipe is easy to follow and has lots of scrumptious pictures and a bonus cute little girl trying perogies for the first time. However, there two three small issues I have with this recipe:

  1. The Dough. Maybe it’s because I make it by hand, but I just can’t seem to get the texture right. My dough always comes out sticky while the author’s is perfectly pillowy. The taste is still great, so it’s not a deal breaker. Just be aware you might have to flour your hands a lot.
  2. Caramelized Onions. I don’t know about you, but I don’t ever have a batch of caramelized onions just hanging out. If you are unfamiliar with kitchen lingo, caramelizing is the process of browning the sugars in something, with the intended result being a more delicious, savory something. For onions, however, that means pushing them around a skillet for like an hour (here’s the tutorial). Add that to your dough-making endeavors, and this meal take several hours to pull together. If you ever have to make these onions, make a TON so you don’t have to do it again for a long, long time.
  3. The Size. Ok, those cute little things look delicious, but I’d need to make a million between me and Nick. Especially because they are so damn delicious. I make mine about twice as big. Sometimes bigger.

TASTE: WE LOVE IT!

Nick says this is one of his favorite dishes (that I make, anyway). Serve them up with sour cream (Nick prefers siracha) and steamed veggies.

DIFFICULTY: Medium

Making the dough is time consuming, but cathartic – especially while kneading. Caramelizing onions is a bitch, unless you really are into slaving over a hot stove. That being said – I can make this without much of a problem, so I’m fairly confident any yahoo could handle homemade perogies. Now get to chopping those onions, you’ve got a long night ahead of you!

Leave a Reply

